‘Do Not Bend: The Photographic Life of Bill Jay’ Documentary Now in Production

Do Not Bend: The Photographic Life of Bill Jay, a documentary movie about the life, photography and photography magazine work of the late Bill Jay, one of the most influential figures in the history and development of photography in the UK and who had an important effect on my own work, is currently in production. 

My attention was drawn to this documentary via a photograph of Magnum photographer Martin Parr holding a copy of A Day Off,  An English Journal by Tony Ray-Jones, one of the quintessential photography books. I bought my own copy years ago at an excess stock sell-off by the State Library Board of Western Australia. Their loss, my gain.

Mr Ray-Jones famously informed Bill Jay that his magazine was shit, when the latter was editor of Creative Camera magazine.

The list of photographers and others contributing to the production is impressive and includes a number of people whose own work has been important to me, and one with whom I worked some years ago, Bill Gaskins.

I look forward to seeing Do Not Bend when it is released.

Links:

Image Credits:

Header image is a spread from A Day Off, An English Journal by Tony Ray-Jones.

