Cam Tech: The Fujifilm X-Pro2, the Optical Viewfinder Documentary Hybrid Camera for the Rest of Us? Plus Notes About the X-T2.

After I was kindly loaned a Fujifilm X-Pro2 digital rangefinder camera with Fujinon XF 35mm f/2 lens, I wrote this article about the X-Pro2’s pros and cons: 

I have been looking forward to the arrival of the successor to the X-Pro1 for what seems like an age. The X-Pro2 does not disappoint in the way its predecessor did, and my tryout indicated that it is the camera for the type of photography I will be doing for this project.

Film-shooting rangefinder cameras were key to my professional work as a magazine, newspaper and corporate photographer before I jumped the fence to the other side of the magazine industry and then advertising, forming my way of seeing and producing immersive, emotive portraits and documentary photographs.

Now, the X-Pro2 and a set of OVF-suitable lenses are at the top of my wishlist.

While researching the X-Pro2 from immediately after its release earlier this year, I became frustrated at how so many of my questions about it were unanswered even with so many early adopters and official Fujifilm X-Photographers who received pre-production X-Pro2s sharing their thoughts on it.

Like so many of us now, I must often buy online without seeing or trying first, and in-depth, hands-on articles are crucial in making the right decision. The X-Pro2 loaner afforded the opportunity to discover my own answers and share them with you, at the risk of TMI, and for that I am grateful to the people who arranged it.

